At first I wasn’t going to write about this issue because as a business owner I felt like I am supposed to know these types of things. But I am also a person like anyone else who has questions and needs guidance and help once in awhile. I have come to realize that just because I am a business owner doesn’t mean I have to know everything or have all the answers. Part of what I am trying to create at Simply Creative Boutique is a place for creative people to be able to come together as a community to inspire and help one another with their businesses. So with that being said I decided to post this. Please leave some feedback or your own questions. Let’s Inspire and help eachother move our creative businesses forward.

BRANDING

 While reading through most business sites on marketing your business there is a huge emphasis on branding. Now don’t get me wrong I agree with branding yourself so that people can recognize you and it helps create a cohesive image. Here is where I am having my issue.

Let me start off by saying that I have self diagnosed myself with “Creative ADD” : ) My best friend seems to have this same diagnosis! Crazy right?!

I love creating with anything I can get my hands on. I don’t have a specific medium I use or type of item I create. I am all over the the board with my materials and what I am in the mood to create.  Sometimes I am in the mood to sew, make jewelry, knit, woodwork, draw, or paint, and on and on the list goes. Sometimes I am carefree and whimsical with my creations, and sometimes I am more conservitive and elegant, while other times it may be a bit darker or funky.

My creations change as my emotions change. (maybe that’s why my first creative business was named Creative Emotions) There is no cohesiveness to my madness in any way shape or form, I just love to create! I almost never measure anything, I am terrible at reading directions, and I usually can never duplicate anything I make : ) I am imfamous for just creating as I go which is usually when my best work comes out.

In the infamous words of Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman “I’m a fly by the seat of my pants kinda gal”  : ) In this case I would say “I’m a create by the seat of my pants kinda gal!”

I don’t think there is anything wrong with this other than how do you create a cohesive branding image for yourself when your items have no ryhme or reason? How do you bring it all together? Does anyone else have this issue with their business? How have you managed to overcome this issue?

I would love to hear any and all feedback on this. I am sure I am not the only one with “Creative ADD” : ) or a branding issue.

 

4 thoughts on “

  1. i am so glad to know that i am not the only one!! and this is exactly why i have ‘named’ my craft business, ‘assotedCANDY’…since my name is candy and i do MANY ‘assorted’ crafts… =) i do teacup candles, diapercakes, jewelry, Christmas wreaths, etc….i love to create all kinds of things, with all sorts of mediums, none specific…thanx for letting me kinow that i am ‘normal’ lol 😉

    • Nope your not the only one Candy! I am sure there are more of us out there than we know.
      How long have you been selling your creative designs? Where do you sell them? How has your customer feedback been with your branding?

  2. Not a business owner so I don’t know if this will be possible or make sence but instead of “branding” yourself with a certain style or product; how about branding the Simply Creative name. That way when someone sees something they will think “Wow, I bet Jennifer made that”. Is that even possible? Could you design a tag specifically for your creations that you put on the things you dsign and put in your store?

    • Thank you for the response and you make a great point. I am thinking that I will keep my Creative Emotions brand…. I came up with that well before I had my Boutique because I create from my emotions, whatever that happens to be at the time.
      With the Boutique I consign handmade artists which is also eclectic but seems to lean towards a nature/antique vintage feel.
      I love to surprise people and would love to give the feeling to my customers of ” oooohhh what is she coming up with this time?”
      Does that make sense? Is it to all over the place?

Please Leave Us a Comment

